Mr. Moudry, the English Coach

11 Dec

 

 

 

Everyone has one teacher whom inspires them to expect more out of themselves then what they were previously were putting forth. The majority of my High School career I had fairly easy English classes; I never really had to put much effort into my work to get an A in the class. But my senior year I decided to take AP English IV, taught by Mr. Moudry. This is when my slacking off started to come back to me.

How do you inspire someone? During tennis practice, the coach doesn’t pat the player on the back and tell him good effort out there when they player messes up. A good coach gets the player and tells him all the things that he did wrong, and tells him what that he could have done instead, so that he will know what to improve on. Sometimes they even make the players a little mad, so the player will want to go and prove the coach wrong. I have played tennis since I was in 7th grade, and sometimes tennis practice and that English class seemed very relatable.

Inspirational quote about teachers

I had heard his classes were generally hard, but I figured I could put my usual effort in and come out okay in the class. The first paper was the “About Me” paper that most English classes start off with. I received an A on that paper with putting little effort into it, so it looked like this class was going to be like all of my other English classes. But then the papers that actually required some thought began to pop up.

The first book analysis we had as a class was over the book, “Pride and Prejudice.”  I remember him telling us something like, “The majority of guys do not like this book, but it actually isn’t that bad.” Well, in my opinion, it was probably the worst book that has ever been written. But when I got my paper back the grade was way lower then I wanted it to be. The majority of the papers I got back were like this. It probably had to do with the fact that I procrastinated on every paper, and didn’t put my full effort into it. At one point, one of the remarks that he put on my paper was, “This is a hot mess!”  So this started to annoy me, I wasn’t used to getting so many negative remarks on my papers.

So at the last part of the year I set a goal to start making better grades on my papers. The last paper of the year was another book analysis. The book he assigned my group was, ‘A Thousand Splendid Sons’ by Khaled Hosseini, (The second worst book that I have ever read). But this time I was determined that I was going to put more effort into this paper, I was going to show him that I could write a good paper. I put twice the work in this paper than the other papers. After turning the paper in I was eager to get it back and see what I made. When he finally gave me the paper back it was the highest grade that I had made since that “About Me’. The comment was actually positive this time, “Your writing has improved leaps and bounds since the beginning of the year.” Best comment I received all year long.

English had always been a class that I was not very fond of, but after I went and put the hard work into it, I realized that English could actually be interesting, and it kind of sparked my interest in the subject. So like the coach and player scenario, it requires tough love and hard work to get better at whatever you are doing. The majority of students’ try to get in classes with teachers that give little work. But what good will come out of taking an easy class? The only way to get better at something is to put hard work into it. A player doesn’t get better because the coach lets him do as he wishes; he gets better because the coach pushes him to be the best that he can be. This same philosophy applies to education as well. The only way a teacher can help a student too better himself, is by inspiring the student. It is the teacher’s job to inspire the student to learn, if the student fails, so does the teacher. In the words of a Buddhist proverb, “”If a seed will not grow, we do not blame the seed. Instead, the fault lies with us for not having nourished the seed properly.”

Leave a Reply

